top of page

About us


Jazz concert activities in Tromsø can be documented back to the 1920s.

The city has had club operations under different names: Tromsø Swingklubb, Jazzklubben av 58, UPOP and Soundsational.

The club in its current form and under its current name and logo, was established in 1986. From 1998, the club has been the county stage in Troms for the North Norwegian Jazz Center.

The club has seen it as important to convey local performers, national bands/musicians and the occasional well-known international jazz stars.

Well-known international musicians who have visited the club are very extensive. These include: Jim Hall, Chris Potter, Dave Liebman, Betty Carter, Joe Zawinul, Charlie Haden, John Scofield, Bill Frisell, Eric Alexander / Harold Mabern, Nils Petter Molvær, Matias Eick, Lee Ritenour / Dave Grusin, Joyce Moreno and Arve Henriksen.

The club has some traditional events for a long time.

Every year on December 27, Romjulsjazz is arranged with local performers. On the international jazz day on April 30, the club has for about 10 years arranged JazzNatt. This event profiles young local performers, from cultural school, music department and music conservatory.


TJK has also established The Jazz Guild, an association for private companies and individuals who want to support the club. TJK has a good collaboration with Tromsø municipality. The club receives grants from the municipality which helps us to have two employees in part-time positions.

The board


Øystein Blix

Sergej Schroeter



Ane Marie Hektoen


Per Anders Eidem


Board members

Line Fusdahl

Christian Sæther Riksheim

Marja Reibo Gundersen

Ruben Bratli

Deputy members

Livchristin Klefstad

Marie Bottheim

bottom of page